2020 bro caron Andy

Andy Davies and Michael Gilbey guide their Impreza in front of huge crowds to victory

             The 29th and 1st of March saw the annual Bro Caron road rally held by Lampeter and district motor club. One again sponsored by Windy corner coaches, this year’s event saw Dafydd Evans and Cadog Davies take over the role of clerks of the course after three very successful events at the hands of Marc Hughes who stepped down from the role although was still helping out. Between them they put on a route of some 95 miles all on OS map 146, with the majority of the route taking place on the southern half of the map. Once again it featured in the welsh road rally championship and for this year it was the opening round so needless to say the entry filled at an incredibly quick rate, with over 90 entries received in the first hour of regulations being available, unfortunately such was the popularity that a number of crews found themselves on the reserves list, crossing their fingers that a space would become available.

Rowcliffe cambrian

Huw and Owen Rowcliffe on their way to victory on the Cambrian (Joseph John Gilbertson)

              On the 18th and 19th of January Tregaron motor club held the first welsh road rally of the year, a 60-mile closed to club event that also included a test at the Mid Wales activity centre in Pontrhydfendigaid. In among the sixty entrants the rally gained were a handful of Lampeter members, with the first being at car 2, which went to Malcom “tar” Jones who was making a rare appearance in the lanes, with him was regular navigator Dafydd Evans who was using the event as a shakedown ready for the Welsh championship that would begin a month later. They were out in Malcolm’s Peugeot 206 GTI. At car 9 was Arfon Griffiths who was navigating for Barry Jones. It was the first road rally for a number of years for Barry and Arfon would be helping him get back into the swing of things on this event. They were using a Mk2 Ford escort. At 12 were another Peugeot 206, this one being crewed by Jonathon Davies and Andrew Gaunt. Down in the semi expert class would be another Peugeot 206, occupied by father and son team Huw Rowcliffe and Owen Rowcliffe. They started at 31.

cad eagle

George Williams and Cadog Davies on their way to winning the Eagle (Joseph John Gilberston)

                It’s been a busy end to the year for club members with a number of events taking place. With the long nights now back as winter arrives the road rallying calendar picks up pace with events taking place almost every weekend. The welsh road rally championship approaches the end there were two events still to compete, which naturally attracted members from Lampeter and district motor club on the entry lists.

Annual Awards Dinner 2019

dinner ticket 2019

Please get in touch for your tickets at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Gari Autumn

           On the 28th and 29th of September Carmarthen motor club held their Autumn road rally, a road rally that made up the eighth round of the welsh road rally championship as well as being a round in Lampeter’s own road rally championship. It was a rally that returned to the calendar six years ago after a twenty-seven-year break. This year’s rally would consist of some 100 miles made up on OS maps 145, 146 and 159 and started and finished from the cattle market in Carmarthen. The rally had attracted a very strong entry and in among them were several club members, with the first being Dafydd Evans who was once again partnered with Kevin “Penclaw” Jones in Kevin’s Toyota corolla. They were seeded at five. Anther navigator followed and that was Cadog Davies at seven who was again with George Williams in George’s Mk2 Ford escort. George and Cadog haven’t been having the best luck in this year’s championship but they were hoping to turn that around on this event and get some big scores in for the final rounds of the season. Stefan “DR” Davies was at nine in his regular Mk2 Ford escort, he had Justin Davies on map duties. There was a trio of Lampeter members at twelve, thirteen and fourteen with Malcolm “tar” Jones and Rhys Jones taking twelve in their GTI 180 specification Peugeot 206. Right behind them were Gari Evans and Marc Hughes in Gari’s immaculately prepared Mk2 Ford escort. Rounding off the trio was Wayne Jones who had Richard Williams with him, they would be in Wayne’s Peugeot 206 GTI. At twenty-seven was Daniel Williams I his regular BMW 318Ti, he had regular navigator Shaun Richards with him. Andrew Davies was navigating for Arwel Thomas at fifty-five in another GTI 180 specification Peugeot 206. Daniel Parsons was another navigator at sixty-one in an escort. Rounding off club members was Mark Station was also navigating, in car seventy-six for Ben Saunders in a

andy tarmac champ

Andy Davies with Michael Gilbey celebrate their championship victory with their crew (Andy Davies)

Andy Davies who with regular navigator Michael Gilbey recently managed to achieve one of their motorsport ambitions, by winning the Group N Irish tarmac rally championship as well as winning overall IRTC2 champions, an incredible achievement in their first year of tarmac rallying after a yearlong battle in the Irish lanes. Their story begins back in 2018 as they took a year out of stage rallying to try and achieve one of their other ambitions, which was to win the welsh road rally championship, an ambition that they did indeed achieve. However, during 2018 Andy and Michael decided to venture out to Ireland to spectate one of the most famous tarmac rallies out there, the Donegal international. At this point Andy had never competed on a tarmac stage rally, let alone an Irish one, when all of a sudden it was suggested that he take IDZ the road rally car out, and as Andy says “the rest is history!”

DSC 0251 2

Dylan Davies and Llion Williams achieve a top 10 result on Wales' first closed road rally

               History was made on the weekend of the 7th and 8th of September when the first ever closed road rally took place, the Bae Ceredigion. Organised between members of four motor clubs in the area which were Lampeter and district, Newtown, Aberystwyth and Teifi Valley, members came together to create history and hopefully add a regular event to the calendar. With Get connected as the main sponsor of the event, it quickly became a popular event with everyone in the Ceredigion area excited to see it run and bring in an income boost to the surrounding area. The entry filled very quickly with competitors from all over the UK hoping to get an entry and what was the first event.